SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Moderator: Maxim_TS


JGAN
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: 03.02.17
Reputation: 1 / (7)

SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby JGAN » 04.02.17, 03:27

I have WD5000BMVV from a WD My Passport that I converted to SATA. DE is asking for a password to decrypt the drive, however, the client says no password set. Also, WD Marvell says there is no password set.

Here is the log:

Code: Select all

Techno mode key
Techno mode key......................... : Ok
 
RAM:
HDD Info reading........................ : Ok
Heads number............................ : 4
Cyl Count............................... : 256
 
Zone allocation table................... : Ok
SA SPT.................................. : 885
 
ROM:
Read ROM................................ : Ok
ROM Data size........................... : 256 Kb
Flash ROM dir reading................... : Ok
SA regions address...................... : by default
Module 02 access........................ : Granted
SA Translator loading................... : Ok
 
ROM Modules:
ROM version............................. : 14.DRP
ROM F/W version......................... : 001400DR
Overlay F/W version..................... : 14.DRP
Servo F/W version....................... : 05.D0
 
Heads configuration..................... : by map
Heads number............................ : 4
Heads number in use..................... : 4
Switched off heads...................... : No
Heads map............................... : 0,1,2,3
 
Service area:
Permanent overlay....................... : Loaded
SA dir reading (ID)..................... : Ok
SA Access............................... : Copy 0,Copy 1
 
Configuration reading................... : Ok
Master Password......................... : has not been set
User Password........................... : has not been set
 
HDD ID reading.......................... : Ok
Solve "slow responding" problem (RAM)
HDD ID writing.......................... : Ok
Defect candidates reading............... : Ok
Defect candidates writing............... : Ok
Ok
 
Soft reset ...
SED key checking
There are no key dir modules
External encryption key checking
UA key reading:976 769 056.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 770 435.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 769 032.............. : Ok
Encryption.............................. : INIC1607E
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Has been already read
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Has been already read
 
UA key reading:976 773 128.............. : Ok
 
SED key checking
There are no key dir modules
External encryption key checking
UA key reading:976 769 056.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 770 435.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 769 032.............. : Ok
Encryption.............................. : INIC1607E
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Has been already read
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Has been already read
 
UA key reading:976 773 128.............. : Ok
 


Is it possible that this is a 128-bit encrypted drive? The bridge IC is an Initio INIC1607E.


Maxim_TS
Site Admin
Posts: 223
Joined: 27.03.13
Reputation: 14 / (144)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby Maxim_TS » 06.02.17, 12:23

JGAN, unfortunately it's a bug in WD INIC1607E FW, and PC-3000 can not bypass that now.
With best regards
ACELab technical support
ts.acelaboratory.com
blog.acelaboratory.com

User avatar
DataMedics
User
Posts: 448
Joined: 15.12.15
Reputation: 14 / (139)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby DataMedics » 06.02.17, 20:44

I'd suggest you talk with Einstein on HDDGuru forum: http://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php? ... &start=100

He's been working on this bug, and supposedly has a solution. He's come out with some impressive innovations, so I suspect he is able to deliver.


Maxim_TS
Site Admin
Posts: 223
Joined: 27.03.13
Reputation: 14 / (144)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby Maxim_TS » 17.02.17, 17:05

Friends, if somebody gets the proof that Mr. Einstein really can do that, let us know :)
With best regards
ACELab technical support
ts.acelaboratory.com
blog.acelaboratory.com


einstein9
New user
Posts: 116
Joined: 12.04.10
Reputation: 2 / (20)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby einstein9 » 21.02.17, 10:13

Maxim_TS wrote:Source of the post Friends, if somebody gets the proof that Mr. Einstein really can do that, let us know :)


Well Maxim, i can tell you something here as i wrote about it before.
"When you don`t know how to do it DOESN`T mean that NO ONE ELSE CAN"

to Proof, i can give you an option here which is the following:

You pay for this hdd shipping, and i will unlock it and send you a screenshot of its content. i believe this is the best proof.
and guess what, i`ll do it for FREE once only.

you know how to contact me if needed.
have a good day
Every man dies, but not every man really lives


einstein9
New user
Posts: 116
Joined: 12.04.10
Reputation: 2 / (20)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby einstein9 » 21.02.17, 10:36

@Maxim again,

we released our 1st. Android Screen Lock Terminator Ref. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRDc6vqNJo8
some time ago, very special & Unique, if you are familiar with Android OS you will know how powerful is this tool.

and guess what, 99.9% of forensic tools not even close to it. Again, if you don`t know how to do it, doesn`t mean no one else can.
Every man dies, but not every man really lives


Tawfeek
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: 22.12.14
Reputation: 1 / (14)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby Tawfeek » 21.02.17, 13:22

einstein9 wrote:Source of the post

"When you don`t know how to do it DOESN`T mean that NO ONE ELSE CAN"





i like this part . and it's totally true . i also agree with mr. DataMedics that Mr.Einstein was working on this bug, and supposedly has a solution. He's come out with some impressive innovations, so I suspect he is able to deliver.

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 649
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 6 / (62)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 21.02.17, 20:20

Well,
Just a small suggestion ,I happened to note that einstein9 Gets worked up on small small issues now and then like when i was commenting on this android tool he was virtually up against me there .BTW if you can do it so can someone else who has the time .Regarding this android tool which was quoted out of context to this thread let me tell you no one needs it ,So many boxes out there to unlock and bypass screens that i cannot count on my fingers .Need some pointers -> http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/index.php [ Check products section ] . Are you out of your mind comparing yourself with one of the best reverse engineering team in hdds .You might be knowing how to unlock WDC that are password protected and then also how to bypass android screens but see the amount of stuff they have known,researched and released
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


H3rmes
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: 10.08.16
Reputation: 1 / (13)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby H3rmes » 21.04.17, 11:24

Amarbir[CDR-Labs] wrote:Source of the post Well,
Just a small suggestion ,I happened to note that einstein9 Gets worked up on small small issues now and then like when i was commenting on this android tool he was virtually up against me there .BTW if you can do it so can someone else who has the time .Regarding this android tool which was quoted out of context to this thread let me tell you no one needs it ,So many boxes out there to unlock and bypass screens that i cannot count on my fingers .Need some pointers -> http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/index.php [ Check products section ] . Are you out of your mind comparing yourself with one of the best reverse engineering team in hdds .You might be knowing how to unlock WDC that are password protected and then also how to bypass android screens but see the amount of stuff they have known,researched and released

Yeah I'm with Amarbir on this one. The ridiculous amount of very useful features and innovations Ace labs and Maxim has provided have made my life so much easier. I'm not gonna argue with those guys no matter what I discover myself!


thientankt
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 20.03.14
Reputation: 0 / (3)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby thientankt » 24.05.17, 13:21

some time enter password windows (if usb connected to PC then PC go to sleep mode)
-----------------------------------
Thien Tan Data Recovery in Viet Nam
167 Tan Phuoc St 6 Ward, 10 Dist
Tel: (84)907 23 24 62
Skype/yahoo: thientankt
www.cuudulieuhcm.com |www.cuudulieuserver.net | www.phuchoidulieu.net
-------------------------------

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 649
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 6 / (62)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 26.05.17, 13:25

thientankt wrote:Source of the post some time enter password windows (if usb connected to PC then PC go to sleep mode)


Well,
Do explain properly what you are saying pleaseeeeeee
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Alexam
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 19.12.11
Reputation: 0 / (2)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby Alexam » 11.12.17, 22:01

JGAN wrote:Source of the post I have WD5000BMVV from a WD My Passport that I converted to SATA. DE is asking for a password to decrypt the drive, however, the client says no password set. Also, WD Marvell says there is no password set.

Here is the log:

Code: Select all

Techno mode key
Techno mode key......................... : Ok
 
RAM:
HDD Info reading........................ : Ok
Heads number............................ : 4
Cyl Count............................... : 256
 
Zone allocation table................... : Ok
SA SPT.................................. : 885
 
ROM:
Read ROM................................ : Ok
ROM Data size........................... : 256 Kb
Flash ROM dir reading................... : Ok
SA regions address...................... : by default
Module 02 access........................ : Granted
SA Translator loading................... : Ok
 
ROM Modules:
ROM version............................. : 14.DRP
ROM F/W version......................... : 001400DR
Overlay F/W version..................... : 14.DRP
Servo F/W version....................... : 05.D0
 
Heads configuration..................... : by map
Heads number............................ : 4
Heads number in use..................... : 4
Switched off heads...................... : No
Heads map............................... : 0,1,2,3
 
Service area:
Permanent overlay....................... : Loaded
SA dir reading (ID)..................... : Ok
SA Access............................... : Copy 0,Copy 1
 
Configuration reading................... : Ok
Master Password......................... : has not been set
User Password........................... : has not been set
 
HDD ID reading.......................... : Ok
Solve "slow responding" problem (RAM)
HDD ID writing.......................... : Ok
Defect candidates reading............... : Ok
Defect candidates writing............... : Ok
Ok
 
Soft reset ...
SED key checking
There are no key dir modules
External encryption key checking
UA key reading:976 769 056.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 770 435.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 769 032.............. : Ok
Encryption.............................. : INIC1607E
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Has been already read
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Has been already read
 
UA key reading:976 773 128.............. : Ok
 
SED key checking
There are no key dir modules
External encryption key checking
UA key reading:976 769 056.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 770 435.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 769 032.............. : Ok
Encryption.............................. : INIC1607E
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Has been already read
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Has been already read
 
UA key reading:976 773 128.............. : Ok
 


Is it possible that this is a 128-bit encrypted drive? The bridge IC is an Initio INIC1607E.


This is somewhat of an old post, so I am not sure if this is still needed, but we can help for free. Oh, and the encryption is AES 256 ECB

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 649
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 6 / (62)

Re: SED My Passport needs user password, client says no password set

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 19.12.17, 20:11

Alexam wrote:Source of the post
JGAN wrote:Source of the post I have WD5000BMVV from a WD My Passport that I converted to SATA. DE is asking for a password to decrypt the drive, however, the client says no password set. Also, WD Marvell says there is no password set.

Here is the log:

Code: Select all

Techno mode key
Techno mode key......................... : Ok
 
RAM:
HDD Info reading........................ : Ok
Heads number............................ : 4
Cyl Count............................... : 256
 
Zone allocation table................... : Ok
SA SPT.................................. : 885
 
ROM:
Read ROM................................ : Ok
ROM Data size........................... : 256 Kb
Flash ROM dir reading................... : Ok
SA regions address...................... : by default
Module 02 access........................ : Granted
SA Translator loading................... : Ok
 
ROM Modules:
ROM version............................. : 14.DRP
ROM F/W version......................... : 001400DR
Overlay F/W version..................... : 14.DRP
Servo F/W version....................... : 05.D0
 
Heads configuration..................... : by map
Heads number............................ : 4
Heads number in use..................... : 4
Switched off heads...................... : No
Heads map............................... : 0,1,2,3
 
Service area:
Permanent overlay....................... : Loaded
SA dir reading (ID)..................... : Ok
SA Access............................... : Copy 0,Copy 1
 
Configuration reading................... : Ok
Master Password......................... : has not been set
User Password........................... : has not been set
 
HDD ID reading.......................... : Ok
Solve "slow responding" problem (RAM)
HDD ID writing.......................... : Ok
Defect candidates reading............... : Ok
Defect candidates writing............... : Ok
Ok
 
Soft reset ...
SED key checking
There are no key dir modules
External encryption key checking
UA key reading:976 769 056.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 770 435.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 769 032.............. : Ok
Encryption.............................. : INIC1607E
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Has been already read
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Has been already read
 
UA key reading:976 773 128.............. : Ok
 
SED key checking
There are no key dir modules
External encryption key checking
UA key reading:976 769 056.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 770 435.............. : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Ok
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Ok
 
UA key reading:976 769 032.............. : Ok
Encryption.............................. : INIC1607E
SA key reading:Copy 0................... : Has been already read
SA key reading:Copy 1................... : Has been already read
 
UA key reading:976 773 128.............. : Ok
 


Is it possible that this is a 128-bit encrypted drive? The bridge IC is an Initio INIC1607E.


This is somewhat of an old post, so I am not sure if this is still needed, but we can help for free. Oh, and the encryption is AES 256 ECB



Well,
if i ever get this kinda job i will definitely ping you
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Return to “WD USB”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest