Not enough power for two hdd?

Moderators: Roman_TS, Maxim_TS, Filipp_TS


AdasRip
Newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: 28.04.14
Reputation: 2 / (17)

Not enough power for two hdd?

Postby AdasRip » 31.08.17, 17:48

I noticed a strange problem with my PC3000 UDMA card.
When I connect 1 disc to channel 0 or 1 everything is fine. Hdd stars up and gets readiness.
However, while on channel 0 will turn on the power of the drive, the hdd on channel 1 does not turn on.
Only BSY and PHY lights are on. Every few seconds they blink.

What's the problem?
Last edited by AdasRip on 31.08.17, 21:49, edited 1 time in total.


msurgeon
New user
Posts: 60
Joined: 14.02.12
Reputation: 2 / (21)

Re: Not enough power on two hdd?

Postby msurgeon » 31.08.17, 17:52

Upgrade your PC power supply.


AdasRip
Newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: 28.04.14
Reputation: 2 / (17)

Re: Not enough power on two hdd?

Postby AdasRip » 31.08.17, 17:59

In my opinion, the PC power supply is enough power. Earlier everything was fine.


msurgeon
New user
Posts: 60
Joined: 14.02.12
Reputation: 2 / (21)

Re: Not enough power on two hdd?

Postby msurgeon » 31.08.17, 18:29

Not necessarily a more powerful supply, but a better quality one or just a different one. We had a similar problem when we upgraded to the new UDMA card a while back and the better PS solved the problem. It's certainly worth trying.


AdasRip
Newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: 28.04.14
Reputation: 2 / (17)

Re: Not enough power on two hdd?

Postby AdasRip » 31.08.17, 18:58

There are 3 HDDs. I'll try turn 2 drives off tommororow. I'll see if reduction power consumption resolve problem.


AdasRip
Newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: 28.04.14
Reputation: 2 / (17)

Re: Not enough power for two hdd?

Postby AdasRip » 02.09.17, 12:41

Today I disconnected all 3 hdd. I left only the system ssd. Unfortunately nothing has changed.
The power supply is 960 Watts (Dell Precision Workstation). Nothing wrong with the computer does not happen, which could indicate power problems.

I have observed that the problem occurs even when I turn on the power of the second channel even without a connected drive.
Another disturbing symptom is that the 3.5 WD5000AAVS drive doesn't start up on my PC3k card. While connected to a normal computer, it starts up normally.


EDIT:

Problem solved :)
It turned out that the reason was to connect to the same power line of the additional USB 3 controller.
Once it's disconnected everything is fine.


msurgeon
New user
Posts: 60
Joined: 14.02.12
Reputation: 2 / (21)

Re: Not enough power for two hdd?

Postby msurgeon » 05.09.17, 17:31

Glad you figured it out but you never did change power supplies to see if that would have solved the problem even with the USB3 connected.


Return to “PC-3000 Express, UDMA-E, Portable”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest