Page 9 of 9

Re: Feature request

Posted: 20.06.19, 18:55
by DataMedics
I have another feature request I'd like to add. Some of these newer WD SMR drives can tend to go stupid and read all zeros, yet appear as if they are reading good data (green blocks). It'd be nice if blocks that are read, but are all zeros could be a different color of their own to allow clearing/reprocessing of just those sectors.

Re: Feature request

Posted: 15.11.19, 20:35
by DataMedics
One more feature I'd like to add a request for. It'd be amazing if DE had the ability to copy data out to an HFS+ formatted drive natively without having to use third-party software like MacDrive. I've found that, especially in recent versions, using DE along with any of these third-party programs is just impossibly unreliable. The system will just hang. I have one case here that I've tried copying the data overnight at least 4 times and every time it randomly just freezes the computer up and stops copying.

A lot of customers here in the USA are Mac-only users so they want their data put on a Mac-formatted drive.

And, if it had the ability to copy out a full-Time Machine Backup folder without duplicating files onto an HFS+ or APFS formatted destination drive, that would be amazing!!!

Re: Feature request

Posted: 20.11.19, 12:05
by einstein9
DataMedics wrote:Source of the post One more feature I'd like to add a request for. It'd be amazing if DE had the ability to copy data out to an HFS+ formatted drive natively without having to use third-party software like MacDrive. I've found that, especially in recent versions, using DE along with any of these third-party programs is just impossibly unreliable. The system will just hang. I have one case here that I've tried copying the data overnight at least 4 times and every time it randomly just freezes the computer up and stops copying.

A lot of customers here in the USA are Mac-only users so they want their data put on a Mac-formatted drive.

And, if it had the ability to copy out a full-Time Machine Backup folder without duplicating files onto an HFS+ or APFS formatted destination drive, that would be amazing!!!


I think its really HARD to implement, coz many factors will get involved starting with damn windows not good enough with MAC partitions in general even with 3rd-party apps
better to have or think of having an iMAC for such cases.

Re: Feature request

Posted: 27.11.19, 17:41
by DataMedics
einstein9 wrote:Source of the post I think its really HARD to implement, coz many factors will get involved starting with damn windows not good enough with MAC partitions in general even with 3rd-party apps
better to have or think of having an iMAC for such cases.


I've got several macs here, that's not the issue. It'd just save a ton of time if we could go right from DE to an HFS+ formatted drive with a fixed/working/mountable cabinet file. I don't even care if it just did a sort of data export along with filesystem fixup to a blank drive that never gets mounted to Windows. And, when you've got a customer with 5 years of weekly backups from a video editing studio in a time backup who actually wants to preserve the back versions of files, it just becomes impossible because the number of duplicate files would push the size into Petabytes if you copied it to an NTFS formatted drive. But, just one bad sector in the HFS+ cabinet will cause MacOS to refuse to mount the image, so it becomes near impossible to do what they want.

Re: Feature request

Posted: 15.12.19, 16:05
by einstein9
DataMedics wrote:Source of the post
einstein9 wrote:Source of the post I think its really HARD to implement, coz many factors will get involved starting with damn windows not good enough with MAC partitions in general even with 3rd-party apps
better to have or think of having an iMAC for such cases.


I've got several macs here, that's not the issue. It'd just save a ton of time if we could go right from DE to an HFS+ formatted drive with a fixed/working/mountable cabinet file. I don't even care if it just did a sort of data export along with filesystem fixup to a blank drive that never gets mounted to Windows. And, when you've got a customer with 5 years of weekly backups from a video editing studio in a time backup who actually wants to preserve the back versions of files, it just becomes impossible because the number of duplicate files would push the size into Petabytes if you copied it to an NTFS formatted drive. But, just one bad sector in the HFS+ cabinet will cause MacOS to refuse to mount the image, so it becomes near impossible to do what they want.


I think there are some 3rd-party Apps for this, (MacOpener maybe) i remember once i tried those and got stuck with UN-mounting the MAC drive, then when i plugged it back the partition was gone
probably bug been fixed by now, but i can give you a small Tip here too beside all of this...

In MAC connect the drive >> Share it on your LAN >> Assign LAN drive & save your data (Gigabit is recommended here)

:thumbup:

Re: Feature request

Posted: 16.01.20, 10:15
by pclab
I think a good improvement could be adding to the log file the details of the drives and on which ports they are connected.
For instance, on a job that we need to stop for several days (because of parts, whatever), sometime I miss on which port I had connected the patient drive and on what port the destination drive was connected.
If the log could save these details, I believe it could help a lot of us.
Thanks

Re: Feature request

Posted: 16.01.20, 13:24
by digitalsupport
pclab wrote:Source of the post I think a good improvement could be adding to the log file the details of the drives and on which ports they are connected.
For instance, on a job that we need to stop for several days (because of parts, whatever), sometime I miss on which port I had connected the patient drive and on what port the destination drive was connected.
If the log could save these details, I believe it could help a lot of us.
Thanks


A log is one way to go.
You can also without any trouble continue a job and switch port of patient, at job opening. I always connect destination drive via motherboard SATA, if destination drive has changed port, DE will report that drive with serial xxxxx was not found and let you select the correct one from destination drive list. Same procedure is also handy when moving a job from one PC-3000 machine to other PC-3000 machine.

Re: Feature request

Posted: 16.01.20, 15:40
by pclab
digitalsupport wrote:Source of the post
pclab wrote:Source of the post I think a good improvement could be adding to the log file the details of the drives and on which ports they are connected.
For instance, on a job that we need to stop for several days (because of parts, whatever), sometime I miss on which port I had connected the patient drive and on what port the destination drive was connected.
If the log could save these details, I believe it could help a lot of us.
Thanks


A log is one way to go.
You can also without any trouble continue a job and switch port of patient, at job opening. I always connect destination drive via motherboard SATA, if destination drive has changed port, DE will report that drive with serial xxxxx was not found and let you select the correct one from destination drive list. Same procedure is also handy when moving a job from one PC-3000 machine to other PC-3000 machine.


I will try that, to see how it works.
Thanks

Re: Feature request

Posted: 16.01.20, 17:01
by Freakazoid
pclab wrote:Source of the post I think a good improvement could be adding to the log file the details of the drives and on which ports they are connected.
For instance, on a job that we need to stop for several days (because of parts, whatever), sometime I miss on which port I had connected the patient drive and on what port the destination drive was connected.
If the log could save these details, I believe it could help a lot of us.
Thanks


If you open the bin folder and then the task folder... you can read INFO File (.info) file and you get that info.

Picture attached
Attachments
Skjermbilde 2020-01-16 kl. 16.10.47.png
Skjermbilde 2020-01-16 kl. 16.10.47.png (1.01 MiB) Viewed 839 times
Skjermbilde 2020-01-16 kl. 16.10.37.png
Skjermbilde 2020-01-16 kl. 16.10.37.png (1.16 MiB) Viewed 839 times

Re: Feature request

Posted: 17.01.20, 10:04
by pclab
Freakazoid wrote:Source of the post
pclab wrote:Source of the post I think a good improvement could be adding to the log file the details of the drives and on which ports they are connected.
For instance, on a job that we need to stop for several days (because of parts, whatever), sometime I miss on which port I had connected the patient drive and on what port the destination drive was connected.
If the log could save these details, I believe it could help a lot of us.
Thanks


If you open the bin folder and then the task folder... you can read INFO File (.info) file and you get that info.

Picture attached


That's exactly it.
Thanks Freakazoid

Re: Feature request

Posted: 04.02.20, 16:43
by lcoughey
Some of these may have already been mentioned, by even me.

1. Skip to next head on read error (it is annoying to have to map one head at a time and skip to next chain)
2. Ability to generate a graphical representation of the full map, similar to DeepSpar and ddrescueview, to get a better feel of where the damage zones are located
3. Ability to generate an HTML report showing good and damaged files without having to save everything out to a drive first, which can be very time consuming when you want to show the client the progress on tough projects
4. Ability to filter file selection based on the sectors read/unread within the files. It would be nice to search and select only files that still have unread/damaged sectors

Re: Feature request

Posted: 05.02.20, 10:57
by northwind
I believe 3 and 4 can be done via snapshots.
3. -> You can make snapshot using legend and create only the good (or the bad files). Then make a DEViewer report. HOWEVER, we've had many complaints by clients that DE Viewer tests positive on many antiviruses and they're hesitant to open it. So, an HTML report would be nice, indeed.
4. -> You can make snapshot using the legend according to what you want to do.

I totally agree with 1 and 2, and wamt to add:

- When checking modules in WD, make option to only check the important ones (As, Ad and maybe B) instead of hammering the drive by checking for example large log modules.
- When saving modules in WD, make option to only save As, Ad, and B without having to first deselect all, then select As, then Ad and then B (just like "Skip not important" with seagate).

Re: Feature request

Posted: 07.02.20, 22:05
by Freakazoid
Is it allowed to want a version in dark mode? :thumbup: :mrgreen:

Re: Feature request

Posted: 25.02.20, 22:44
by DataMedics
Freakazoid wrote:Source of the post s it allowed to want a version in dark mode?

No, no one wants that. There are way more urgent things Ace can be doing instead of adding skins to the tool.

Re: Feature request

Posted: 06.03.20, 16:30
by lcoughey
When looking at the imaging values on the status page, it would be nice if DE didn't count read and black sectors. I'm sure everyone would agree that we only want to the the volume of sectors read with data counted.

I do like the recent updates to the Task Statistics showing live. It would also be nice to have also include the % of the total LBAs for quick reference.