ST3320613AS- Data inaccessible afetr logical test

Moderator: Dmitriy_TS


mscerl
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: 25.12.12
Reputation: 2 / (16)

ST3320613AS- Data inaccessible afetr logical test

Postby mscerl » 07.07.16, 14:06

Hi everyone,
I did a logical test on this seagate HDD and there were found a few bad sectors.
I moved them into the slip list. After that i did a new logical test but it cannot read the sectors from where the bad sectors were found to the last sector of the HDD !
is it possible to undo the changes?(the data is important)

thanks in advance for your help


AJ2008
Posts: 1334
Joined: 25.11.08
Reputation: 11 / (105)

Re: ST3320613AS- Data inaccessible afetr logical test

Postby AJ2008 » 07.07.16, 16:04

did you regen translator after adding defects?


lcoughey
User
Posts: 215
Joined: 12.01.12
Reputation: 8 / (78)

Re: ST3320613AS- Data inaccessible afetr logical test

Postby lcoughey » 07.07.16, 17:57

If the data is important, why were you testing the drive rather than imaging it? Only do what is necessary to get the drive to a condition that you can image quickly.

User avatar
DataMedics
Advanced user
Posts: 600
Joined: 15.12.15
Reputation: 17 / (165)

Re: ST3320613AS- Data inaccessible afetr logical test

Postby DataMedics » 07.07.16, 23:51

lcoughey wrote:Source of the post If the data is important, why were you testing the drive rather than imaging it? Only do what is necessary to get the drive to a condition that you can image quickly.


Exactly what I was thinking. Why would you read all the sectors without saving them by doing a logical test? That feature is just for refurbishing/re-certifying drives, not data recovery.


mscerl
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: 25.12.12
Reputation: 2 / (16)

Re: ST3320613AS- Data inaccessible afetr logical test

Postby mscerl » 08.07.16, 20:19

AJ2008 wrote:Source of the post did you regen translator after adding defects?

no i did not


mscerl
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: 25.12.12
Reputation: 2 / (16)

Re: ST3320613AS- Data inaccessible afetr logical test

Postby mscerl » 08.07.16, 20:25

lcoughey wrote:Source of the post If the data is important, why were you testing the drive rather than imaging it? Only do what is necessary to get the drive to a condition that you can image quickly.

Because the owner didn't tell me.


lcoughey
User
Posts: 215
Joined: 12.01.12
Reputation: 8 / (78)

Re: ST3320613AS- Data inaccessible afetr logical test

Postby lcoughey » 08.07.16, 22:05

mscerl wrote:Source of the post
lcoughey wrote:Source of the post If the data is important, why were you testing the drive rather than imaging it? Only do what is necessary to get the drive to a condition that you can image quickly.

Because the owner didn't tell me.

Here is a piece of advice. Never, ever, ever, ever, ever run a logical drive test on a drive that has data on it that you are not 100% sure is backed up or needed. Always, always, always make a clone first.


mscerl
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: 25.12.12
Reputation: 2 / (16)

Re: ST3320613AS- Data inaccessible afetr logical test

Postby mscerl » 09.07.16, 21:58

lcoughey wrote:Source of the post
mscerl wrote:Source of the post
lcoughey wrote:Source of the post If the data is important, why were you testing the drive rather than imaging it? Only do what is necessary to get the drive to a condition that you can image quickly.

Because the owner didn't tell me.

Here is a piece of advice. Never, ever, ever, ever, ever run a logical drive test on a drive that has data on it that you are not 100% sure is backed up or needed. Always, always, always make a clone first.

Thanks for your advice

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 750
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 7 / (74)

Re: ST3320613AS- Data inaccessible afetr logical test

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 14.07.16, 19:16

lcoughey wrote:Source of the post
mscerl wrote:Source of the post
lcoughey wrote:Source of the post If the data is important, why were you testing the drive rather than imaging it? Only do what is necessary to get the drive to a condition that you can image quickly.

Because the owner didn't tell me.

Here is a piece of advice. Never, ever, ever, ever, ever run a logical drive test on a drive that has data on it that you are not 100% sure is backed up or needed. Always, always, always make a clone first.


Well,
He Can Run if he wishes but he should not hide or play with defects
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Return to “Arch F3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests