WD1000-00CAA1 100GB IDE with IDX errors

Moderator: Maxim_TS


osity
User
Posts: 414
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

WD1000-00CAA1 100GB IDE with IDX errors

Postby osity » 23.06.18, 18:16

Client swapped boards on this drive as the original was dead. The new PCB spins up fine now.
PC3K cannot see or detect the family of this drive.
In another tool I am able to reliably get full ID everytime but was only able to read a few hundred sectors.
Now the IDX indicator is always lit up and it times out on most sectors with IDNF and IDX.
Any idea what could be wrong with this drive?


AJ2008
Posts: 1384
Joined: 25.11.08
Reputation: 11 / (113)

Re: WD1000-00CAA1 100GB IDE with IDX errors

Postby AJ2008 » 25.06.18, 14:11

did you check translator module #25? Any modules appear with errors?

osity wrote:In another tool I am able to reliably get full ID everytime but was only able to read a few hundred sectors.


Is head map in donor PCB same as native map?

There is always hotswap option for this model also. Can you read all SA tracks without errors?


osity
User
Posts: 414
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: WD1000-00CAA1 100GB IDE with IDX errors

Postby osity » 25.06.18, 16:50

PC3K can't detect family. Which utility should I use to check the module?


"Is head map in donor PCB same as native map?"
I'm not sure how to check this since I can't get any utility to cooperate. PCB by itself stays BSY.


osity
User
Posts: 414
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: WD1000-00CAA1 100GB IDE with IDX errors

Postby osity » 25.06.18, 17:19

Caviar 16bit util looks like it can read modules.
Translator module 25 looks good.


osity
User
Posts: 414
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: WD1000-00CAA1 100GB IDE with IDX errors

Postby osity » 25.06.18, 18:12

Picture of PCB attached. Im not sure if ROM needs to transferred on this one. If it is, I'm not sure which chip it is.

The only chip that looks correct is ST755 9224 chip but it comes up as something else on google.
Attachments
rf.jpg
rf.jpg (476.33 KiB) Viewed 8054 times


osity
User
Posts: 414
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: WD1000-00CAA1 100GB IDE with IDX errors

Postby osity » 25.06.18, 18:45

There's the M29F102BB chip circled in the photo.
It's coming up as 1 MBIT (64KB X16, BOOT BLOCK) SINGLE SUPPLY FLASH MEMORY.

But it seems ROM is not unique on this model.
Attachments
rf2.jpg
rf2.jpg (603.76 KiB) Viewed 8050 times


osity
User
Posts: 414
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: WD1000-00CAA1 100GB IDE with IDX errors

Postby osity » 28.06.18, 21:50

I swapped ROM and actually got FULL ID. Was able to copy sectors but after, it stopped reading and went back to prior behavior. Now, sometimes I will get ID of 8GB instead of 100GB with correct serial number.
If I use data extractor it reads with 50% errors. Strange....


Return to “WD OLD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest