Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD Topic is solved

Moderator: Garry_TS

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 697
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 7 / (70)

Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 31.03.16, 09:41

Hello TS Team ,
Today i got a Case Where The Drive Came With Heads Stuck On Platter Issue .The Same Was Rectified In My Clean Room .Now The Current Situation is That Heads 0,1,2 From The Four Present 0,1,2,3 Are Cloning Fine .The Top Head 3 Is Having Reading Issues .Why Does This Happen Is My First question " Is It due To The Fact That Dust Settles While We Do The Procedure In The Cleanroom ? . I Always Blow Away Dust With a Manual Blower While i Am In The Procedure or About To Close The Case Top Lid .Am i Overdoing The dust Blowing ? . My Second Problem is That i Would Like To Ask My Staff

Question : How To Disable Autoreassign While Cloning These Samsung Drives ? ,If I am Cloning The Top Head Head No 3 I Get The Following In Terminal .


Ps : Log File is Attached
Attachments
log.zip
(3.94 KiB) Downloaded 176 times
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 697
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 7 / (70)

Re: Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 03.04.16, 12:05

Hello Team Ace ,
I Need a Answer to My Post is This Possible Or Not :(
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery

User avatar
Garry_TS
Site Admin
Posts: 36
Joined: 06.05.14
Reputation: 4 / (35)

Re: Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD

Postby Garry_TS » 05.04.16, 13:13

Hi,

Yes, it could be due to dust. Please provide more details:

1) What kind of "manual blower" do you have? Can you provide some photos?
2) Is head 3 able to read some sectors or is it unable to read all?
3) Have you tried to reduce read retry count value in utility (e.g. set it from 0x66 to 0x02) ?

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 697
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 7 / (70)

Re: Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 05.04.16, 15:15

Pavel_TS wrote:Source of the post Hi,

Yes, it could be due to dust. Please provide more details:

1) What kind of "manual blower" do you have? Can you provide some photos?
2) Is head 3 able to read some sectors or is it unable to read all?
3) Have you tried to reduce read retry count value in utility (e.g. set it from 0x66 to 0x02) ?


Hi ,
Pavel I Have a Basic Type Manual Air Blower ,This is How It Looks Like ->http://www.lynx-india.com/index.php?productID=21646 [ BTW Lynx-india Is Also My Own Website ] .Yes Head 3 Was Able to Read Lots Of Sectors ,Can You Explain Me this " Have you tried to reduce read retry count value in utility (e.g. set it from 0x66 to 0x02) " .Specially The Hex Value you stated 0x66 and 0x02
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery

User avatar
Garry_TS
Site Admin
Posts: 36
Joined: 06.05.14
Reputation: 4 / (35)

Re: Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD  Topic is solved

Postby Garry_TS » 06.04.16, 17:36

Image

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 697
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 7 / (70)

Re: Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 06.04.16, 19:12

Pavel_TS wrote:Source of the post Image


Hi Pavel,
Thanks For This Many Many People Do Not Know This I Had Posted This On Jareds forums But There Too everyone Was Blank
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery

User avatar
DataMedics
Advanced user
Posts: 558
Joined: 15.12.15
Reputation: 16 / (157)

Re: Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD

Postby DataMedics » 06.04.16, 21:34

Hey, hey, hey. I wouldn't say we're blank...maybe just didn't get around to responding. Or possibly we didn't understand what you were asking.


lcoughey
New user
Posts: 187
Joined: 12.01.12
Reputation: 6 / (56)

Re: Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD

Postby lcoughey » 07.04.16, 15:00

DataMedics wrote:Source of the post Hey, hey, hey. I wouldn't say we're blank...maybe just didn't get around to responding. Or possibly we didn't understand what you were asking.

I don't recall even seeing the post on that forum.


LarrySabo
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: 20.07.15
Reputation: 2 / (18)

Re: Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD

Postby LarrySabo » 07.04.16, 15:28

lcoughey wrote:Source of the post
I don't recall even seeing the post on that forum.

A search of Jared's forum for posts containing the word "retry" yields just 2 threads, neither of which involved Amarbir. Perhaps he is thinking of some other forum.


lcoughey
New user
Posts: 187
Joined: 12.01.12
Reputation: 6 / (56)

Re: Autoreassign [ On/Off ] - While Cloning M8E Series HDD

Postby lcoughey » 07.04.16, 15:48

LarrySabo wrote:Source of the post
lcoughey wrote:Source of the post
I don't recall even seeing the post on that forum.

A search of Jared's forum for posts containing the word "retry" yields just 2 threads, neither of which involved Amarbir. Perhaps he is thinking of some other forum.

When I went in this morning, didn't need to search. It pops up under new threads - https://www.data-medics.com/forum/autor ... t1289.html


Return to “Spin Point”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest