Write ROM by terminal

Moderator: Garry_TS

User avatar
pclab
New user
Posts: 164
Joined: 13.11.13
Reputation: 2 / (21)

Write ROM by terminal

Postby pclab » 18.04.16, 23:43

Hi

Is it possible to write ROM by terminal on a bricked PCB, like we can do with the WD PCB's?

Thanks

User avatar
300ddr
User
Posts: 233
Joined: 18.01.12
Reputation: 3 / (28)

Re: Write ROM by terminal

Postby 300ddr » 19.04.16, 00:02

For what brand drive?

User avatar
pclab
New user
Posts: 164
Joined: 13.11.13
Reputation: 2 / (21)

Re: Write ROM by terminal

Postby pclab » 19.04.16, 10:07

Hey

It's for a Samsung (not sure of the model, but a F3 family).

User avatar
Garry_TS
Site Admin
Posts: 36
Joined: 06.05.14
Reputation: 4 / (35)

Re: Write ROM by terminal

Postby Garry_TS » 29.04.16, 13:20

Best answer is to try :wink:
In general, if you have terminal access (ENG> or DBG> string) - you will be able to write ROM. And if damaged part of microcode is loading before terminal access microcode (e.g. FIT module) - you will be unable to get terminal access and write ROM.

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 706
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 7 / (73)

Re: Write ROM by terminal

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 30.04.16, 09:43

Pavel_TS wrote:Source of the post Best answer is to try :wink:
In general, if you have terminal access (ENG> or DBG> string) - you will be able to write ROM. And if damaged part of microcode is loading before terminal access microcode (e.g. FIT module) - you will be unable to get terminal access and write ROM.


Hi ,
Can We Have Some Depth Details Of ROM And Its Arrangement In Samsung HDD's Then . Because if ROM is The Only Criteria To Write In Case Of Damaged PCB "In Your Criteria Its Just Damaged Code Of FIT Etc Module That Loads Before TA Access Microcode " Then We Can Update Or borrow That Code " Making Sure Its OK " And Get Terminal Access And Voila Done :D
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery

User avatar
Garry_TS
Site Admin
Posts: 36
Joined: 06.05.14
Reputation: 4 / (35)

Re: Write ROM by terminal

Postby Garry_TS » 26.05.16, 18:45

Hi Amarbir,

Can We Have Some Depth Details Of ROM And Its Arrangement In Samsung HDD's Then


We don't have documentation about Samsung ROM structure

We Can Update Or borrow That Code " Making Sure Its OK " And Get Terminal Access And Voila Done


Yes, but you can do it only via programmer device, not via terminal.

User avatar
DataMedics
Advanced user
Posts: 579
Joined: 15.12.15
Reputation: 16 / (163)

Re: Write ROM by terminal

Postby DataMedics » 31.05.16, 23:05

As an interesting experiment, I bet you can physically move the ROM to a Seagate or WD PCB which had the same size ROM and write the ROM code back to it that way. Perhaps could even do it just using some grabbers and not even removing it. Just not sure if the PC-3000 software would throw a fit because the ROM isn't a proper WD or Seagate one.


Return to “Spin Point”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest