ST1000LM024 can read in sector edit but not DE

Moderator: Garry_TS


osity
User
Posts: 345
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

ST1000LM024 can read in sector edit but not DE

Postby osity » 18.03.17, 20:28

What would cause the drive to be able to read sectors using "sector edit" in the utility but not in DE?
In DE I just get readiness loss error.

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 706
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 7 / (73)

Re: ST1000LM024 can read in sector edit but not DE

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 22.03.17, 06:10

Osity ,
Try To Set ector Read To 1 In DE In Your Case With Lower Read Speeds
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


osity
User
Posts: 345
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: ST1000LM024 can read in sector edit but not DE

Postby osity » 22.03.17, 21:17

Amarbir,
If you mean block size. I've tried that with no luck. I've also tried read timeouts as low as 60ms

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 706
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 7 / (73)

Re: ST1000LM024 can read in sector edit but not DE

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 23.03.17, 05:52

osity wrote:Source of the post Amarbir,
If you mean block size. I've tried that with no luck. I've also tried read timeouts as low as 60ms


Hi,
Kindly disable head map in DE and then try might be it works also try pio mode " hardware tries " .Very Unique Problem BTW .
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


osity
User
Posts: 345
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: ST1000LM024 can read in sector edit but not DE

Postby osity » 23.03.17, 16:55

I've tried PIO as well. Do you mean disable all heads in DE? Not sure how that would work, :)

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 706
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 7 / (73)

Re: ST1000LM024 can read in sector edit but not DE

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 04.04.17, 16:53

osity wrote:Source of the post I've tried PIO as well. Do you mean disable all heads in DE? Not sure how that would work, :)


Well,
Read What i Said "I am Saying Do Not Create a Head Map " Just Try Like This and If You Have Created Head Map Deselect That Not Deselect Heads
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


osity
User
Posts: 345
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: ST1000LM024 can read in sector edit but not DE

Postby osity » 04.04.17, 20:17

what does "If You Have Created Head Map Deselect That Not Deselect Heads" mean?

How would you disable the headmap after creating it without creating a new task?


Return to “Spin Point”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests