HTS541060G NVRAM Damaged

Moderators: Maxim_TS, Filipp_TS, Garry_TS, Sergey_TS

darkosski

HTS541060G NVRAM Damaged

Postby darkosski » 13.02.12, 18:57

Hi Guru's

This is my first time posting as im a new user, im working on a Hitachi 2.5 HTS541060G and the problem im getting is
when ever i put the NVRAM chip on a donor PCB the pcb seems to die.

I have tried 2 PCB's so far which powered up the donors with the donors NVRAM chip but as soon as i put the patient NVRAM
chip on the PCB's no longer power the hard drive...

Am i missing something or is the NVRAM chip causing some other component on the working PCB to die??

any help is greatly appreciated.
Ryan

300ddr
User

Re: HTS541060G NVRAM Damaged

Postby 300ddr » 14.02.12, 02:02

check closely that all 8 legs on the nvram are still there. sometimes they can come off if you pull a little too hard (resulting in "dead" board). if the first two lines of pcb number (white sticker) are the same, I believe nvram swap should work.

Igor
Site Admin

Postby Igor » 14.02.12, 09:59

Hello

Donor PCB with patient NVRAM may not work because of incompatible ROM versions, but usually, as 300ddr wrote, if first two lines on the label on PCB are the same, ROM versions should be compatible.
Such behavior may also appear if patient NVRAM is damaged. If you have external programmer you can check content of NVRAM chip, if it will be empty, so NVRAM is damaged. NVRAM is more sensitive than ROM chips, it may become damaged because of overheating very easy.
PC-3000 has procedure for NVRAM restoration, it is named NVRAM adjustment. There is description of it in manual for Hitachi IBM.

darkosski

Postby darkosski » 14.02.12, 22:33

Thanks for the info, i will have to wait until my pc3000 arrive to get the manuals unless they are online in soft copy for download.

Ryan

darkosski

Postby darkosski » 01.03.12, 01:44

ok so my pc3000 arrived yesterday and i installed it today, i fired it up and here is what i did...