WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Moderator: Maxim_TS


osity
User
Posts: 345
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby osity » 27.02.16, 23:30

This WD just got new heads.
After I repaired all the bad modules I am left with just module 4 that is still bad. Because of this module, I can't access user area.
I tried to rewrite Copy 0 and 1 of the module but it failed.
Since it can't be repaired, I was going to move it to a different ABA location. The problem is that module 04 is very large..the only spot available has bad blocks....and so I cannot find anywhere to put it.

So what happens if you cant find space? ....or is there a better approach?

User avatar
DataMedics
Advanced user
Posts: 565
Joined: 15.12.15
Reputation: 16 / (160)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby DataMedics » 28.02.16, 00:15

You can shrink a non critical module such as E0 down to just 1 sector in size and make enough room for it that way. Maybe even shrink and relocate a few of them that are next to each other.


osity
User
Posts: 345
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby osity » 28.02.16, 02:29

That's a great idea... I was wondering about the possibility of deleting non critical ones but shrinking them sounds just as good and safer.

04 is the largest module (by size ) on WD passports and its required for user data access. Apparently on drives other its not so important.


Thanks for the suggestion. You're a pretty active forum member!


osity
User
Posts: 345
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby osity » 28.02.16, 03:34

I just realized that module 04 is 57,603 sectors.
I don't think there are enough non-critical modules to shrink. E0 and others are only around 1500 sectors each. Any other options?


Maxim_TS
Site Admin
Posts: 291
Joined: 27.03.13
Reputation: 15 / (149)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby Maxim_TS » 29.02.16, 12:21

Dear osity, if Service Area is full of bad sectors, it's almost impossible to find the good space for such big module like 04.
In fact, I often get the data even with bad 04 module, if all others were good.
Please try to change the head map in RAM, maybe some head is weak.
Also check if all other modules are good.

The instructions about RAM head map changing and module relocation are in ACE Blog: http://blog.acelaboratory.com/
With best regards
ACELab technical support
ts.acelaboratory.com
blog.acelaboratory.com


osity
User
Posts: 345
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby osity » 29.02.16, 17:33

All critical module have been corrected except 04. Should I correct non critical as well? (D modules ETC.)

User avatar
pclab
New user
Posts: 159
Joined: 13.11.13
Reputation: 2 / (21)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby pclab » 29.02.16, 23:42

Maybe using hot swap can get your problem solved..


osity
User
Posts: 345
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby osity » 01.03.16, 00:21

pclab, perhaps, I never use that option
......a what point in a recovery do you consider a hotswap for a solution?

User avatar
DataMedics
Advanced user
Posts: 565
Joined: 15.12.15
Reputation: 16 / (160)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby DataMedics » 01.03.16, 01:30

osity wrote:Source of the post pclab, perhaps, I never use that option
......a what point in a recovery do you consider a hotswap for a solution?


Usually at the point you're at right now :lol:

When you reach a point where it's impossible/impractical to repair the existing SA, read everything by composite, write it all to a compatible donor, and use it to initialize the PCB so it's all ready to read after hot swapping it. Then just pray that you don't have too many bad sectors causing it to stall and need repeated hot swapping. If module 4 is your only issue, then you should be good. It's when the issue is related to defect lists that you'll really be in tough shape hot swapping it.


osity
User
Posts: 345
Joined: 06.12.15
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby osity » 01.03.16, 17:42

My understanding is that hotswap is not possible for the, Shrek, Hubble, Hubble LT and FBLite
Can anyone else confirm?

My drive is FBlite.


Surprisingly ...I was just able to access the user data using a simple RAM headmap on this case. There must have been some back blocks in the maintenance under the disabled head.

Thank you for all your help everyone!

User avatar
DataMedics
Advanced user
Posts: 565
Joined: 15.12.15
Reputation: 16 / (160)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby DataMedics » 02.03.16, 01:02

I'm pretty sure it is possible on those. Maybe not a dumb hotswap, but definitely can do a smart hotswap.


Maxim_TS
Site Admin
Posts: 291
Joined: 27.03.13
Reputation: 15 / (149)

Re: WD Passport issue with module 04-family models configuration (Main)

Postby Maxim_TS » 02.03.16, 17:28

DataMedics, I have tried to perform a hot-swap on Hubble LT twice. Both times I have got the bricked donor...
I guess it was related to some differences in SA structure, like Dir positions, or something else.
If you have some tips regarding it, let us know :)

By the way, the smart hot-swap is described here: http://blog.acelaboratory.com/pc-3000-h ... rives.html
With best regards
ACELab technical support
ts.acelaboratory.com
blog.acelaboratory.com


Return to “WD Marvell”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests