Seagate ST31500541AS - no capacity and every sector skipped

Moderator: Dmitriy_TS


K36
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: 13.11.17
Reputation: 0 / (0)

Seagate ST31500541AS - no capacity and every sector skipped

Postby K36 » 13.06.18, 13:18

Hello,

I have a HDD by Seagate, it's a Barracuda LP with 1.5 TB. Looks good on the outside, sounds normal, spins up and the first two times went directly into BSY. Then I unplugged the power chord, let it almost spin down and replugged the power cable -> spin up and RDY.

Utility autodetect gave me Seagate F3. I started the seagate utility and that identified: Model ST31500541AS, Serial 9XW07EEX, Firmware CC34 and Capacity 0 MB
Log says, Family ID 40, Hepburn and loading default settings
Parsing Saved Mode Pages returned "SMB Db1: 0x037FF7FF (0x0000000F)"
No other errors in Utility log

I then started the Data Extractor, built the heads map and performed a quick disk analysis. Here the capacity is shown with 2 TB. Result of disk analysis were many "Error - Set UDMA = UDMA133" and after completion: "Error execute=LBA->PCHS(T) (U) err! Tech state 0x72, 0x05260204" and "LBA = 2992842003"
I started the copy process with 8 sectors to skip if sector reading failed, then 256, 2048 and after 12% went to 204800. Registers ERR and ABR stay red and the map showns only black blocks (and the skipped ones).

Now I don't know, what to do further. Can you help, please?

Thanks a lot,
Thomas

User avatar
Blizzard
New user
Posts: 65
Joined: 29.06.16
Reputation: 4 / (38)

Re: Seagate ST31500541AS - no capacity and every sector skipped

Postby Blizzard » 13.06.18, 14:56

Have you read the Seagate2 manual? It should be available in your Customer Update Box at Ace. I would start there and use a working Seagate for practice. Once you are familiar with the details in the manual and working with a terminal connection you can provide terminal output on your failed HDD and possibly get more help.


AJ2008
Posts: 1274
Joined: 25.11.08
Reputation: 10 / (97)

Re: Seagate ST31500541AS - no capacity and every sector skipped

Postby AJ2008 » 14.06.18, 10:09

You will need to make adjustments to critical service area information before this will read OK - it is possible that there are other issues, but it looks like some issue with MC or translator, but really it needs to be looked at before we know for sure.


K36
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: 13.11.17
Reputation: 0 / (0)

Re: Seagate ST31500541AS - no capacity and every sector skipped

Postby K36 » 18.06.18, 10:58

Thank you blizzard and aj2008 for your advice. I'm going to need some time for trying, but I'll let you know about the outcome.

User avatar
Amarbir[CDR-Labs]
Advanced user
Posts: 664
Joined: 03.08.09
Reputation: 6 / (63)

Re: Seagate ST31500541AS - no capacity and every sector skipped

Postby Amarbir[CDR-Labs] » 19.06.18, 20:07

Hi Thomas ,
This is your colleague Amarbir From India .The Most Common Issue With Seagate F3 Family is Inherited From The SCSI Line of Firmware "Translator Issue " . The Second Most Common Issue i See Is Continuous Allocation of Bad Sectors By Inbuilt Firmware Leading To Excessive Allocations Being Done Leading To Drive Freezing ,Third Most Common Issue i See Is Media Cache Issue .In Your Case You Should First Disable Allocations In Your SMB Sys File By ATA Mode Or System Files Modification Mode By Terminal And Check Results .
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon ,CDR Labs [ Chandigarh ,India ]
DataRecovery - The Affordable Way In India
Visit - > http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com My Facebook - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Dmitriy_TS
Site Admin
Posts: 269
Joined: 01.04.13
Reputation: 7 / (73)

Re: Seagate ST31500541AS - no capacity and every sector skipped

Postby Dmitriy_TS » 25.06.18, 21:58

Hello Thomas,

Please past here V40 output from the drive.
With best regards
ACELab technical support
ts.acelaboratory.com
blog.acelaboratory.com


Return to “Arch F3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests